Comparison

Sous Chef vs. Paprika — organize a week of recipes, or change the one you're cooking?

The short answer

Pick Paprika if you want meal planning, an aisle-sorted grocery list, Mac and Windows apps, and a one-time price. Pick Sous Chef if what you mostly want is to change one recipe in plain language and have the ingredients and the steps that depend on them update together.

Want to save this recipe and adapt it on your iPhone?

Download on the App Store

The short answer

Paprika is the better recipe manager. It plans meals by the day, week, or month, builds a grocery list that combines duplicates and sorts by aisle, runs on iPhone, Android, Mac, and Windows, and costs a one-time price per platform. Sous Chef has none of those things. What Sous Chef does that Paprika doesn’t is change a recipe for you: ask for “feed 6 instead of 2” or “make it vegetarian,” and it edits the ingredient lines and the steps that mention them, marks what moved, and keeps the original.

So this isn’t really “which app is better.” It’s which job you’re hiring for. Paprika runs a kitchen’s week. Sous Chef handles the ten minutes when tonight’s recipe isn’t quite right. Plenty of people would reasonably use both.

Side by side (as of Oct 2026)

Every Paprika claim below comes from paprikaapp.com or Paprika’s App Store and Google Play listings, checked October 10, 2026.

Paprika 3Sous ChefBetter for this
PlatformsiPhone and iPad (plus Apple Watch and Apple Vision listed as compatible) (App Store), Android (Google Play), Mac (Mac App Store), Windows (paprikaapp.com/windows)iPhone onlyPaprika
Price$4.99 on iPhone/iPad; $29.99 on Mac; $29.99 on Windows; Android is free to download, with a 50-recipe cap and no cloud sync until you upgrade by in-app purchase. “Each version of Paprika is sold separately” (paprikaapp.com)Free to download and try; heavier AI use may need a subscription laterPaprika, if you want a settled one-time price
Getting recipes inBuilt-in browser, Safari extension, bookmarklet, and import from apps such as MacGourmet and MasterCook (App Store)Paste text, import from a link (recipe sites, YouTube, TikTok links), import from one or more photos, or share a page from SafariDepends on your sources — see below
Meal plannerYes — daily, weekly, or monthly calendars, plus reusable menusNoPaprika
Grocery listYes — combines ingredients and sorts by aisle; exports to RemindersNoPaprika
Pantry trackingYes, with expiration datesNoPaprika
Cloud syncIncluded with the purchase, “no extra fees” (paprikaapp.com/windows)No cross-device sync; optional sign-in keeps your library through a reinstallPaprika
ScalingScales ingredients to a serving sizeA real edit: quantities plus dependent steps (pan size, batches, timing)Sous Chef, when the steps depend on quantity
Unit conversionConverts between measurementsFlips the whole recipe between US and metric as one settingTie
Cooking modeScreen stays on, cross off ingredients, highlight the current step, tap detected times to start a timerStep-by-step view, checkable ingredients and steps, notes, timers with Live ActivitiesTie
Change a recipe from a plain-language requestNot stated on their site — you edit the text yourselfYes — a typed, server-validated patch to ingredients and steps; changed lines marked Edited; undo to the originalSous Chef
Works inside ChatGPT or ClaudeNot stated on their siteYes, through an MCP connectorSous Chef

One thing to watch: Paprika 4 is in open beta. Paprika’s Sept. 28, 2026 announcement lists recipe scanning, importing from TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, and YouTube, clipboard import, nutritional analysis, and family sharing, and says that after the beta, “premium features will require a subscription.” No price has been announced. The table above describes Paprika 3, the version you buy today.

Where Paprika is clearly better

Planning the week and shopping for it

This is Paprika’s home turf and nothing in Sous Chef competes with it. You drop recipes onto a calendar, save a good week as a reusable menu, and Paprika turns the plan into a grocery list that merges “1 onion” and “2 onions” into one line and groups items by aisle. It can also push meal plans to Calendar and grocery lists to Reminders. If your weekly routine is “plan Sunday, shop Monday,” buy Paprika. Sous Chef has no meal planner and no grocery list, and you’d be fighting it.

Every device in the house, including a laptop

Paprika has real Mac and Windows apps, an Android app, and sync between them that’s included in the price. Sous Chef is iPhone-only, with no Android, no desktop, and no sync between two phones. Signing in to Sous Chef (Google, email, or Apple) keeps your library if you reinstall; it doesn’t mirror recipes onto a partner’s phone.

A price you pay once

Paprika’s model is old-fashioned in a good way: buy each platform once, and sync comes with it. The catch is that each platform is a separate purchase, so iPhone plus Mac is $4.99 plus $29.99. Sous Chef is free to download and try; heavier AI use may need a subscription later, and that pricing isn’t final. If a known, one-time cost matters to you, that favors Paprika, at least until Paprika 4’s subscription details are public.

Where Sous Chef is clearly better

Changing a recipe, not just storing it

In Paprika, a recipe is a document. You can scale its quantities and convert its units, but if you want to swap an ingredient, you open the editor and retype it. Then you have to remember every step that mentioned the old ingredient.

Sous Chef treats your request as an edit to the whole recipe. You type or say the change, and the model has to return a typed patch, not a paragraph. There are nine patch types: replace, insert, or remove an ingredient; replace, insert, or remove a step; update metadata; add or remove a note. The server validates each patch against the recipe before applying it, so a patch that points at a step that doesn’t exist is rejected rather than quietly half-applied. Changed lines are marked Edited, there’s an edits log, and undo takes you back to the original. The original recipe is never overwritten; edits live on a working copy.

Scaling when the steps depend on the numbers

Paprika’s scaler multiplies ingredients. That works for a soup. It’s not enough for a recipe where the steps assume a quantity: “bake in an 8-inch square pan,” “brown the meat in two batches,” “simmer until reduced by half.” In Sous Chef, scaling is an edit, so those steps can change along with the quantities. We cover the reasoning in does cooking time change when you double a recipe and how to scale a recipe.

Recipes that live in ChatGPT or Claude

If you plan dinner in a chat, Sous Chef’s MCP connector renders the recipe as an interactive card you can edit and save to your library. The in-chat cooking mode has no timers; those are on the iPhone app. Paprika doesn’t state any ChatGPT or Claude integration. See recipe apps that work with ChatGPT and Claude.

A worked example: chicken to chickpeas

Say you’ve saved a weeknight curry, and step 2 reads “Brown the chicken thighs in batches, about 5 minutes per side, then set aside.” Tonight it needs to be vegetarian.

In Paprika: open the recipe editor, change “1½ lb chicken thighs” to chickpeas, then find step 2 and rewrite it by hand. Then check step 4, which probably says “return the chicken to the pan.” Paprika won’t flag either one. It doesn’t know the steps depend on the ingredient.

In Sous Chef: type “make it vegetarian.” The patch replaces the chicken line with drained chickpeas, rewrites step 2 to something like “Toast the chickpeas in the oil for 3–4 minutes,” and updates step 4 to return the chickpeas instead. All three lines show Edited, and the chicken version is still there if you undo. The edits are model-generated, so read them before you cook, the same as you would a friend’s suggestion.

How you’ll get recipes in

This one depends on where your recipes come from. Paprika’s built-in browser is one of the best web importers around: browse to a recipe page, tap a button, done. It also imports from older recipe apps like MacGourmet, MasterCook, and Living Cookbook, which matters if you’re moving a large collection. In Paprika 3, as described on its listing, import is web-first. Photo scanning and social video import are both listed for Paprika 4, which is still in beta.

Sous Chef imports pasted text, links (recipe sites, YouTube, and TikTok links), and one or more photos, such as a cookbook page or a handwritten card. You can also share a page to it from Safari. It doesn’t read every site, and importing a video file you’ve saved to your phone isn’t available yet. For the video side specifically, see the best apps to save TikTok and YouTube recipes.

Choose Paprika if…

Choose Sous Chef if…

If you’re leaving Paprika for some other reason, like the interface, per-platform pricing, or a household on mixed devices, the best Paprika alternatives for iPhone sorts the options by reason. If you’re torn between the two classic organizers, see Paprika vs. Recipe Keeper.

Common questions

Can I use Sous Chef and Paprika together?

Yes, and for a lot of people that’s the honest answer. Keep your library, meal plan, and grocery list in Paprika. When one recipe needs changing, bring it into Sous Chef by pasting its text, sharing its link, or photographing it, then make the change there.

Does Paprika have AI recipe editing?

Not as of October 2026. Paprika 3’s App Store listing describes scaling and unit conversion, not changing a recipe from a written or spoken request. The Paprika 4 beta announcement lists features such as scanning, social import, and nutritional analysis, but doesn’t describe AI editing.

Is Paprika a subscription now?

Paprika 3 is still a one-time purchase per platform: $4.99 on iPhone/iPad, $29.99 on Mac, and $29.99 on Windows as of Oct 2026. For the Paprika 4 beta, Paprika says premium features will require a subscription once the beta ends, and it hasn’t published a price.

Does Sous Chef have a meal planner or grocery list?

No. Sous Chef has no meal planner, grocery list, nutrition tracking, or Android app. If those are what you need, Paprika is the better choice.

Can Sous Chef sync to my Mac like Paprika does?

No. Sous Chef is iPhone-only and doesn’t sync across devices. Optional sign-in keeps your library through a reinstall or a new phone. A recipe can also be shared as a public link that opens as a web page in any browser.

Is Paprika’s cloud sync free?

It’s included with the app purchase. Paprika’s Windows page says Paprika Cloud Sync is “included with your purchase of the app and there are no extra fees.” The free Android version doesn’t include cloud sync until you upgrade.

Try it on your own recipe

Sous Chef is free to download and try on iPhone. Heavier AI use may need a subscription later.

Download on the App Store