Comparison
The best recipe organizer apps for iPhone in 2026
The short answer
Paprika is the best all-round recipe organizer for iPhone ($4.99 once, meal planning, aisle-sorted grocery lists, offline). Recipe Keeper suits homes that also use Android or Windows, Pestle is strongest for social video saves, and Mela for privacy. Sous Chef is for changing a recipe in plain language rather than storing hundreds.
Want to save this recipe and adapt it on your iPhone?
Download on the App StoreThe answer in one paragraph
For most people, Paprika is the best recipe organizer on iPhone. It costs $4.99 once on iPhone and iPad, downloads recipes from websites, plans meals on daily, weekly, or monthly calendars, builds a grocery list that combines ingredients and sorts them by aisle, syncs between devices, and stores everything on the device so “no internet connection is required to view your recipes” (App Store). Pick Recipe Keeper if your household also uses Android or Windows. Pick Pestle if most of your recipes come from Instagram, TikTok, or YouTube. Pick Mela if you want a simple Apple-only app whose App Store label says “Data Not Collected.” Pick Crouton if you want an Apple Watch and Vision Pro app plus Reminders integration. Pick Sous Chef if your problem isn’t storage but changing a recipe: “make it vegetarian,” “feed 6 instead of 2,” “no dairy,” with the ingredients and the steps that mention them updated together.
At a glance
| App | Price (US, Nov 2, 2026) | Best for | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paprika 3 | $4.99 once on iPhone/iPad | Meal planning and aisle-sorted grocery lists, offline | iPhone, iPad, Watch, Vision, Mac, Windows, Android (each sold separately) |
| Recipe Keeper | Free; Pro $19.99 once | Homes that mix iPhone with Android or Windows | iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows, Mac |
| Crouton | Free; Plus $24.99 once; Discover $1.99/mo or $14.99/yr | Apple Watch, Vision Pro, Reminders | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Watch, Vision |
| Pestle | Free for 15 recipes; Pro $2.99/mo or $24.99/yr | Saving recipes from social video | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Watch, Vision |
| Mela | Free; Mela+ $6.99 once (iPhone/iPad) | A minimal, private recipe box | iPhone, iPad, Mac |
| Sous Chef | Free to try; Pro $5.99/mo or $49.99/yr | Changing a recipe in plain language | iPhone; also in ChatGPT and Claude |
Every price, platform, and feature on this page was re-checked on November 2, 2026 against each maker’s own website or App Store listing, linked next to the claim. Prices are US App Store prices unless noted. They change, and they differ by country.
Full comparison
| App | Full pricing | Import options | Sync | Offline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paprika 3 | $4.99 iPhone/iPad; $29.99 Mac; Windows and Android sold separately (site). The listing also shows “Paprika 4 Premium” in-app purchases at $9.99 and $14.99, period not stated | Recipe websites, a Safari extension, and a bookmarklet for any browser | Paprika Cloud Sync for recipes, grocery lists, and meal plans (site) | Yes. “All of your data is stored locally” |
| Recipe Keeper | Free; Pro upgrade $19.99 one-time; “separate purchase required for other platforms” | Recipe websites, Instagram and TikTok (site); photo, PDF and cookbook scan with OCR; copy-paste | iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows, and Mac | Yes. “Works offline” |
| Crouton | Free; Crouton Plus $24.99 one-time ($17.99 early bird); Discover $1.99/mo or $14.99/yr | Websites, AI and OCR cookbook scan, AI import from a photo or plain text, schema.org recipe JSON | iCloud, with household sharing (site) | Not stated |
| Pestle | Free up to 15 recipes; Pro $2.99/mo or $24.99/yr with a 14-day trial (site); lifetime listed at $39.99 and $49.99 | Share from websites and social apps (“Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and more”); PDF and photo import on Pro | Pro feature (site) | Not stated |
| Mela | Free; Mela+ $6.99 one-time on iPhone/iPad, $14.99 on Mac | In-app browser and share extension for websites, cookbook scan with text recognition, RSS feeds of recipe blogs (site) | iCloud, private by default or a shared library | Not stated |
| Sous Chef | Free to download. A free account includes 10 AI edits or imports and keeps 10 recipes; Sous Chef Pro is $5.99/month or $49.99/year, with a free first week | Paste text; a recipe-site, YouTube or TikTok link; one or more photos; or share a page from Safari | Recipes are stored in your Sous Chef account; sign-in keeps them through a reinstall, not sync between two phones | Import and edits need a connection |
A second table, for the questions that usually come next:
| App | Meal planner and grocery list | Scaling and units | Cook mode | Changes a recipe for you |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paprika 3 | Yes. Grocery list combines ingredients and sorts by aisle; pantry with expiry dates | Scales servings; converts between standard and metric | Keeps the screen on while you cook | No. You edit the text yourself |
| Recipe Keeper | Yes. Weekly and monthly planner; shopping list | Recalculates ingredients for servings; US and metric units | Screen lock disabled while viewing recipes | No |
| Crouton | Yes. Weekly planner that can auto-generate from saved recipes; list works with Reminders | Scale by multiplier, servings, or one ingredient | Step-by-step with timers and hands-free thumb gestures | Partly. Ingredient substitutions that adjust quantities and instructions without changing the saved recipe, on Discover |
| Pestle | Yes. 14-day meal plan and shopping list | Scaling and metric/imperial conversion on the free plan | Guided cooking with hands-free control and multiple timers | No |
| Mela | Meal plan via Calendar; groceries via Reminders | Not stated on its site or listing | Large-type cook mode, several recipes at once, timers | No |
| Sous Chef | No | Any serving change as an edit; whole recipe flips between US and metric | Cook mode on the Steps tab: bigger step text, each step lists the ingredients it uses, screen stays awake; step timers with Live Activities | Yes. Any plain-language request, applied to a working copy |
The six apps, briefly
Paprika: best overall
Paprika is the default for a reason. It plans meals on daily, weekly, or monthly calendars, saves favorite plans as reusable menus, merges duplicate grocery items and sorts them by aisle, tracks a pantry, and keeps everything on the device, so recipes open without signal. The catch is that every platform is its own purchase, so iPhone plus Mac is $4.99 plus $29.99. One thing to watch: Paprika 4 is in open beta, and Paprika’s Sept. 28, 2026 announcement says that afterwards “premium features will require a subscription.” Paprika hasn’t published that price on its site, but the Paprika 3 App Store listing now shows “Paprika 4 Premium” purchases at $9.99 (marked discount) and $14.99, without saying how often they bill. Everything in the tables describes Paprika 3, the version on sale today. For a head-to-head, see Sous Chef vs. Paprika.
Recipe Keeper: best for mixed-device households
Recipe Keeper runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows, and Mac, with a shared meal planner and shopping list. Its OCR scan handles cookbook pages, PDFs, and handwritten cards, and its site lists Instagram and TikTok import alongside “hundreds of popular recipe websites.” The $19.99 Pro upgrade covers iOS; other platforms need their own purchase. Its last iPhone update was in April 2026. It’s the closest rival to Paprika; see Paprika vs. Recipe Keeper and Sous Chef vs. Recipe Keeper.
Crouton: best for Apple Watch and Vision Pro
Crouton covers more Apple hardware than anything else here. Its October 14, 2026 update (2026.5) added hands-free thumb gestures, export of several recipes at once as Crouton files, PDF, plain text, or Markdown, and ingredient substitutions that carry through to quantities and cooking instructions without overwriting the saved recipe (version history). Those substitutions need the Discover subscription, which is separate from the one-time Crouton Plus purchase.
Pestle: best for social video recipes
Pestle’s App Store listing says it saves recipes “from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and more,” and it uses Apple Intelligence to name social-media saves that arrive without a clear title. Its site says the free plan includes saving from any website, shopping lists, guided cooking, scaling, and metric/imperial conversion, but keeps only 15 recipes; sync, meal plans, and PDF or photo import need Pro. It shipped an update on October 28, 2026.
Mela: best for privacy and simplicity
Mela is a clean, quiet recipe box. Its App Store privacy label is “Data Not Collected,” and its site says it “does not depend on or use any third-party service”; sync runs through your own iCloud. It’s a one-time unlock per platform. Its last iPhone update shipped in June 2025, so expect fewer new features than the others.
Sous Chef: best for changing a recipe
Sous Chef is not a filing cabinet. There is no meal planner and no grocery list, and it runs on iPhone in English only. What it does is take a recipe you imported from pasted text, a link (recipe sites, plus public YouTube and TikTok videos up to 10 minutes), one or more photos, or a page shared from Safari, and change it on request. Ask for “make it vegetarian” and it swaps the ingredient and rewrites the step that cooked it, marks each changed line Edited, lets you undo, and keeps the original underneath. It also works inside ChatGPT and Claude through its connector, and any recipe can be shared as a public web link. Sous Chef is free to download; a free account includes 10 AI edits or imports and keeps 10 recipes, and Sous Chef Pro, $5.99 a month or $49.99 a year on the App Store, removes both limits after a free first week. Cook mode and timers don’t need Pro.
Storing a recipe and changing one are different jobs
Almost every organizer here treats a recipe as a document. You save it, maybe scale the numbers, and if you want to swap an ingredient you retype the text yourself. Scaling is arithmetic, so that works. A substitution usually isn’t one line: swap bacon for mushrooms and the step that says “render the bacon fat” is now wrong, and nothing flags it. Crouton’s Discover substitutions are the exception for single-ingredient swaps.
Sous Chef handles the general case. A request returns a typed set of edits that the server validates against the recipe’s structure before applying them: replace, insert, or remove an ingredient or a step, update details like the title, yield, or cook time, or add a note. Because steps are editable targets just like ingredients, one request can change both. An edit that points at a step that doesn’t exist is rejected rather than half-applied.
A worked example
Say you imported a carbonara recipe whose step 3 reads: “Cook the pancetta in the pan until crisp, then add the drained pasta directly to the fat.” You type “make it vegetarian.”
In Paprika, Recipe Keeper, Pestle, or Mela, you’d cross out “pancetta” yourself and then remember to rewrite step 3. In Sous Chef, the pancetta line becomes sliced mushrooms and step 3 becomes “Cook the mushrooms in the pan until browned, then add the drained pasta directly to the pan.” Both lines are marked Edited, and the original recipe stays one tap away. For more on pulling a recipe off a site first, see how to import a recipe from a website on iPhone.
When to use two apps
Plenty of people keep their library, meal plan, and grocery list in Paprika or Recipe Keeper, and bring one recipe into Sous Chef when it needs changing, by pasting its text or link. If your recipes come mostly from Instagram, Pestle’s or Recipe Keeper’s social import is the better fit; Sous Chef reads YouTube and TikTok links but not Instagram, and can’t yet import a video saved to your phone.
Narrower questions have their own guides: the best Paprika alternatives, the best Recipe Keeper alternatives, the best apps to save TikTok and YouTube recipes, the best recipe scaling apps, and recipe apps that work with ChatGPT and Claude.
Common questions
What is the best recipe organizer app for iPhone?
Paprika, for most people: a one-time $4.99 on iPhone, a meal planner, an aisle-sorted grocery list, sync, and offline access. Recipe Keeper is the pick if anyone in the house uses Android or Windows. If you mainly want to adapt recipes rather than file them, Sous Chef does that and the others don’t.
How much do these apps cost?
As of November 2, 2026, on the US App Store: Paprika $4.99 (iPhone/iPad) and $29.99 (Mac). Recipe Keeper is free with a $19.99 Pro upgrade. Crouton is free with Crouton Plus at $24.99 and Discover at $1.99/month or $14.99/year. Pestle is free for 15 recipes, then $2.99/month or $24.99/year. Mela is free with Mela+ at $6.99 (iPhone/iPad) or $14.99 (Mac). Sous Chef is free to download, with Sous Chef Pro at $5.99/month or $49.99/year for unlimited AI edits, imports, and saved recipes.
What does Paprika vs. Recipe Keeper cost if I want both iPhone and a computer?
Paprika: $4.99 on iPhone plus $29.99 on Mac, about $35 in total, with sync included; the Windows version is a separate purchase too. Recipe Keeper: free to download plus the $19.99 Pro upgrade on iPhone, and a separate purchase on each other platform. Neither charges a subscription for its current version, but Paprika says Paprika 4 will put premium features behind one.
Is there a free recipe organizer for iPhone?
Several are free to download, but each limits something. Pestle’s free plan keeps up to 15 recipes. Recipe Keeper, Crouton, and Mela are free downloads with a paid unlock. Paprika has no free version on iPhone. Sous Chef’s free account keeps 10 recipes and includes 10 AI edits or imports. This guide lists what each free tier includes.
Are these apps available outside the US, for example in Germany or Lithuania?
Yes. All six are listed on Apple’s German and Lithuanian App Stores as of November 2, 2026, checked through Apple’s own store lookup. Prices are local: Paprika is €5.99 in both, and the free apps are still free to download. Paprika supports 16 interface languages, Recipe Keeper 15, Pestle 7, Mela 4 (English, French, German, Italian), Crouton 3 (English, French, German), and Sous Chef English only, so German speakers have a German interface in every app except Sous Chef. None offers Lithuanian. Recipes themselves can be in any language.
Can I move my recipes from one app to another?
Usually, with some work. Mela imports from Paprika, Recipe Keeper imports “from your existing documents or apps,” Crouton imports schema.org recipe JSON and exports recipes as PDF, plain text, or Markdown. To bring a recipe into Sous Chef, paste its text or its original link, or photograph the page. There’s no bulk import from another app.
Do I need an account, and what data do they collect?
Sous Chef needs no account. Import, editing, and cook mode work as a guest; optional sign-in with Google, email, or Apple keeps your library through a reinstall. Its privacy page explains what is processed and sent to AI providers. Mela’s App Store label says it collects no data. Paprika, Recipe Keeper, Crouton, and Pestle list some data on their App Store privacy labels.
Do any of these work on Android?
Paprika and Recipe Keeper have Android apps. Crouton, Pestle, Mela, and Sous Chef are Apple-only.
What happens to the original recipe when Sous Chef edits it?
It’s kept. Edits go to a working copy, every change is marked and can be undone, and the original stays untouched.
Try it on your own recipe
Sous Chef is free to download and try on iPhone. Heavier AI use may need a subscription later.
Download on the App Store