Comparison
Which recipe apps actually work with ChatGPT and Claude?
The short answer
As of November 2026, five recipe services publish a ChatGPT or Claude connector: Sous Chef, Deglaze, Cooking with Robots, Love & Lemons (Claude only), and Instacart for groceries. Popular recipe apps like Paprika, Pestle, Crouton, Mela, and ReciMe use AI inside their own apps but state no ChatGPT or Claude integration.
Want to save this recipe and adapt it on your iPhone?
Download on the App StoreThe short answer: five, and they do different things
Very few recipe apps work with ChatGPT or Claude. As of November 2, 2026, we found five services that say so on their own pages: Sous Chef (ChatGPT and Claude), Deglaze (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and Muse), Cooking with Robots (ChatGPT, Claude, and Cursor), Love & Lemons (Claude), and Instacart (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and Google’s AI Mode, for groceries rather than a recipe box). Everything else we checked, including Paprika, Pestle, Crouton, Mela, and ReciMe, either uses AI inside its own app or says nothing about either assistant.
| Service | Connects to | Best for | Your own saved recipes? | Price stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sous Chef | ChatGPT, Claude | Cooking a chat recipe from a card and editing it with Undo | Yes: save, open, edit, delete | Connector free to add; app has a free plan and Pro at $5.99/mo (App Store) |
| Deglaze | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Muse | ”What should I make?” from your own recipe box | Yes: library, meal plan, grocery list, history | Not stated |
| Cooking with Robots | ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor | Pantry-aware weekly meal plans | Its recipe collection plus your pantry | ”$0 a month,” no paid tier |
| Love & Lemons | Claude | Recipes and meal plans from one food blog | No | Not stated |
| Instacart | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, AI Mode | Turning a meal idea into a grocery cart | No | Not stated |
“Works with ChatGPT” gets used loosely. An app that uses an AI model to tidy up an import is not the same as an app you can call from inside a ChatGPT or Claude conversation. For this guide, an app only counts if its developer publishes a way to connect it to ChatGPT or Claude: a plugin, a connector, or an MCP server (the open protocol both assistants use to call outside tools).
What each connector does in the chat
Sous Chef
Sous Chef’s connector is built around one problem: a recipe that ChatGPT or Claude writes for you is a wall of text you can’t cook from. With the connector added, the recipe opens as a card with ingredients, steps, timing, and servings. You can step through the method, tick off ingredients, and switch between US and metric. Ask for a change (“make it for four,” “no dairy”) and the edit is validated before it’s applied, changed lines are marked, and Undo restores the previous version. Viewing a recipe never saves it; Save is a separate tap that puts it in your private Sous Chef library, the same one the iPhone app uses, and you can share a saved recipe as a public link.
Two honest limits. The in-chat cooking mode has no timers; durations stay as text, and real timers with Live Activities are in the iPhone app. And Sous Chef is added as a custom connector by pasting its URL, https://mcp.mysouschef.app/mcp, following the steps on our connector page, rather than found by browsing a store. The connector itself doesn’t charge. Saving counts toward your Sous Chef library: a free account keeps 10 recipes, and Sous Chef Pro, $5.99 a month or $49.99 a year on the App Store, removes the limit.
Deglaze
Deglaze is a recipe manager for iPhone and Android. Its AI assistant page says the connector gives an assistant “access to your Deglaze recipe library, grocery list, meal plan, and cooking history,” and lists ChatGPT (install the Deglaze plugin and sign in), Claude (add a custom connector with https://mcp.deglaze.app/mcp), Gemini, and Muse. Its August 27, 2026 post adds “as far as we know, we’re the first recipe app to make this possible.” Neither page says plainly whether the assistant can edit recipes you already saved. If you already keep your recipes in Deglaze and want “what’s for dinner from my own box,” this is the closest match.
Cooking with Robots
Cooking with Robots is a web-based meal planner with pantry tracking and grocery lists. Its July 2026 post says an assistant can read and update your pantry, search its recipe collection, generate a weekly plan that respects your allergies, and list what’s missing from your pantry for that plan. It works with ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, and Cursor, and the post says MCP access is on every account with “no paid tier, no waitlist.” It’s a planner around its own recipe collection; the post doesn’t describe saving a recipe you found elsewhere.
Love & Lemons
Love & Lemons’ Claude connector “brings the full recipe library directly into Claude”: search by ingredient, cuisine, or craving, get a carousel of recipe cards, and request a 3 to 7 day meal plan with a printable shopping list. It’s a publisher connector, not a personal recipe app; it won’t hold the recipe you found elsewhere. The page mentions only Claude and lists no setup steps or price.
Instacart
Instacart isn’t a recipe app, but it’s the one people reach for after the recipe. Its ChatGPT app launched December 8, 2025, building a cart from local retailers that you review and pay for in the chat. Instacart’s September 22, 2026 update says “you can tap into Instacart through ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, AI Mode in Google Search.” It doesn’t store or edit recipes.
Apps that use AI but don’t connect to ChatGPT or Claude
These are good apps. They just don’t publish a ChatGPT or Claude integration on their App Store listing or site, as of November 2, 2026:
| App | AI or smart features it describes | ChatGPT / Claude connection |
|---|---|---|
| Pestle | Apple Intelligence names social-media saves and timers; Siri answers questions about saved recipes | Not stated |
| Crouton | AI import from a single photo or plain text; AI and OCR cookbook scan; ingredient substitutions on Discover; Siri and Shortcuts | Not stated |
| Mela | No AI described; an in-app browser that detects recipes and a text-recognition cookbook scanner | Not stated |
| ReciMe | Saves from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube and more; “Magic Meal Plan” personalized weekly recipes; calorie counts | Not stated |
| Mise | AI import from links, photos, and text; Premium voice assistant for cooking questions; model not named on the listing | Not stated |
| Paprika | None described | Not stated |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their own pages, not that it’s impossible. Several of these accept pasted text, so you can always copy a chatbot’s recipe in by hand; how to save a ChatGPT recipe on iPhone walks through that.
What about the community MCP servers?
Search an MCP directory and you’ll find hobbyist servers for Paprika, plus self-hosted recipe managers like Tandoor and Mealie. None of the Paprika ones are made or supported by Paprika’s developer. They typically run on your own computer, need your account credentials or an API token, and connect through a desktop client rather than the ChatGPT or Claude apps on your phone. We haven’t tested them and don’t recommend handing your password to one without reading its code.
How connecting actually works
In Claude
Claude’s help center says custom connectors using remote MCP are available on Free, Pro, Max, Ultra, Team, and Enterprise plans, and that “Free users are limited to one custom connector” (Claude support). On Pro and Max you go to Customize → Connectors, click + Add, choose Add custom connector, and paste the URL. On Team and Enterprise, an owner adds it under Organization settings → Connectors, then each member connects it.
In ChatGPT
ChatGPT now calls these integrations plugins. Listed ones like Deglaze’s or Instacart’s are installed from the plugin directory. A custom MCP server like Sous Chef’s is added in ChatGPT’s Plugins page with the plus button and Add custom MCP server, where you enter the URL, configure sign-in, and create it as a plugin (OpenAI’s developer guide). OpenAI notes that “account and workspace policies apply,” so availability depends on your plan or workspace; check OpenAI’s help article before you start.
What a connector is good for, and when you don’t need one
A connector earns its place when you want the result to leave the chat in usable shape: a saved, structured recipe, a cart, a plan built from recipes you already own. If you just want a one-off answer (“what can I make with leeks and eggs?”), plain ChatGPT or Claude is fine, and how good those answers are is covered in are ChatGPT recipes any good?.
The more important question is what happens when the assistant changes a recipe. A chatbot rewriting a recipe in prose can quietly drop a step or change a number; our scaling test caught one contradicting itself on a single ingredient. That’s why Sous Chef’s connector routes edits through a typed, server-validated change with marked lines and Undo, instead of trusting the rewrite.
Common questions
Does Paprika work with ChatGPT or Claude?
Not officially, as of November 2026. Paprika’s site and App Store listing don’t mention either assistant. Community-built MCP servers exist, but they aren’t made by Paprika’s developer and usually require your Paprika credentials.
Can ChatGPT save a recipe straight into a recipe app?
Only through a connector that supports saving. Sous Chef’s connector saves a recipe to your private library when you tap Save. Deglaze’s pages describe the assistant working with your saved recipes but don’t spell out what it can write. Otherwise, copy the text and paste it into your app.
Is a recipe “GPT” the same as a recipe app connector?
No. A custom GPT is a ChatGPT persona with instructions; it doesn’t connect to an app where your recipes live. A connector calls an outside service, so the recipe ends up saved or acted on somewhere other than the chat thread.
Can I use Sous Chef in Claude on the free plan?
Claude’s help center says Free users can add one custom connector, so yes, if Sous Chef is the one you add. Displaying and editing a recipe in the chat doesn’t need a Sous Chef account; saving does, and a free Sous Chef account keeps up to 10 recipes.
Does the Sous Chef connector have timers?
No. In ChatGPT and Claude, durations are shown as text and you can step through the recipe and check off ingredients. Real timers with Live Activities are in the Sous Chef iPhone app.
Which connector is best for meal planning?
Deglaze (from your own saved recipes), Cooking with Robots (from its collection, around your pantry), and Love & Lemons (from its blog’s library, in Claude) all describe meal plans with shopping lists. Sous Chef has no meal planner or grocery list.
Try it on your own recipe
Sous Chef is free to download and try on iPhone. Heavier AI use may need a subscription later.
Download on the App Store