Comparison
The best recipe apps with a hands-free cooking mode (iPhone, 2026)
The short answer
For true touch-free step navigation, Crouton (hands-free mode and thumb gestures) and Mise (voice guidance) describe it most clearly. Paprika, Mela, and Recipe Keeper cover screen-awake and timers well. Sous Chef has a step-by-step cooking view with Live Activity timers and voice for edit requests, but not voice step navigation.
Want to save this recipe and adapt it on your iPhone?
Download on the App StoreThe short answer: decide which “hands-free” you need
Crouton and Mise are the clearest picks for a truly hands-free cooking mode: Crouton’s hands-free mode moves between steps without touching the phone, and Mise follows every step with voice guidance. Most other recipe apps keep the screen awake and run timers but still need a tap to change steps.
That’s because “hands-free cooking mode” means three different things, and few apps do all three:
- The screen doesn’t go dark while you’re kneading, so you don’t have to unlock with a floury thumb.
- Timers run outside the app — on the Lock Screen, Dynamic Island, or your watch — so you can leave the recipe.
- You can move between steps without touching the phone, by voice or gesture.
Almost every serious recipe app does the first. Most do the second. Only a few developers clearly describe the third: Crouton (“move between steps without touching your device,” plus thumb-left/right gestures) and Mise (voice guidance with spoken prompts). Pestle says you can “control Pestle hands-free” without saying how. Sous Chef does the first two and lets you speak an edit request (“make this for two”), but it doesn’t read steps aloud or take “next step” voice commands.
How the cooking modes compare
All claims below come from each developer’s US App Store listing or site, checked October 10, 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their own pages.
| App | Screen stays on | Step-by-step view | Timers | Touch-free or voice control | Price (as of Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crouton | Not stated | Yes — “unique step by step mode” | Start from steps; heads-up display; AlarmKit alarms; Live Activities on Apple Watch | Yes — hands-free mode moves between steps without touching; thumb left/right gestures | Free; Crouton Plus $24.99 one-time; Discover $1.99/mo or $14.99/yr |
| Mise | Not stated | Yes | On Apple Watch (“timers and steps right from your wrist”) | Yes — voice guidance with voice prompts; Premium AI assistant answers cooking questions | Free; Premium $3.99/mo or $29.99/yr |
| Pestle | Not stated | Yes — guided cooking, adjustable text size | Multiple timers that behave like system timers | ”Control Pestle hands-free” (method not stated); Siri answers questions about saved recipes | Free; Pro $2.99/mo, $24.99/yr; lifetime listed at $39.99 and $49.99 |
| Paprika | Yes — “keep the screen on while cooking” | Highlight current step, cross off ingredients | Tap auto-detected times; control from Apple Watch | Siri support listed; no voice step control described | $4.99 iPhone/iPad, one-time; other platforms sold separately |
| Mela | Yes — “Disable Auto-Lock” setting | Cook mode with larger font, multiple recipes | In cook mode, with Live Activities | Not stated | Free; Mela+ $6.99 one-time |
| Recipe Keeper | Yes — “screen lock disabled while viewing recipes” | Highlight current direction, check off ingredients | Not stated | Alexa skill for step-by-step hands-free cooking (English only) | Free; Pro $19.99 on iOS |
| Deglaze | Yes | Ingredients inline with steps; switch recipes in one tap | One tap from an instruction (Pro) | “Audio cooking sessions”; voice control not described | Free; Deglaze Pro subscription listed at $49.99, period not stated |
| Sous Chef | Yes — keep-screen-awake toggle on the recipe screen | Yes — checkable ingredients and steps, with notes | Real timers with Live Activities | Voice input for edit requests; no voice step navigation | Free to download and try; heavier AI use may need a subscription later |
The apps, one at a time
Crouton: the clearest touch-free step navigation
Crouton’s listing says, “With hands free mode you can move between steps without touching your device,” and a recent update adds moving between steps “by pointing your thumb left or right.” Timers start from times detected in a step, a heads-up display keeps them visible while you browse, and AlarmKit support means they ring as real alarms rather than notifications. Live Activities show timers, steps, and doneness on Apple Watch. If your main need is “don’t make me touch the screen,” this is the most explicit claim on the page.
Mise: voice-first
Mise is built around voice: “turn on voice guidance and follow every step hands-free,” with voice prompts in cooking mode. Premium adds an AI assistant you can ask cooking questions such as “Can I substitute butter?”, and a choice of cloud or on-device voices. The listing mentions timers on Apple Watch but doesn’t describe phone timers or screen-awake behavior.
Pestle: guided cooking with strong timers
Pestle turns a recipe into a guided step-by-step flow with adjustable text size, a “Head Up” feature that surfaces long instructions like marinating or proofing earlier, and as many timers as you want — which, since version 3.0, “behave like system timers,” so they still alert in silent mode or Do Not Disturb. The listing says you can “control Pestle hands-free for those messy recipes” but doesn’t explain the mechanism, so try it before relying on it.
Paprika: the dependable basics
Paprika’s listing covers the fundamentals directly: “Keep the screen on while cooking, cross off ingredients, and highlight your current step.” Cook times are detected in the directions — tap one to start a timer — and you can control those timers from Apple Watch. It’s a one-time $4.99 on iPhone and iPad. There’s no touch-free step navigation described.
Mela and Recipe Keeper: calm cook modes
Mela’s cook mode shows steps in a larger font, lets you load several recipes and switch between them, and runs timers with Live Activities; a “Disable Auto-Lock” setting keeps the screen awake. Recipe Keeper disables the screen lock while you view a recipe, highlights the current direction, and has an Amazon Alexa skill for step-by-step hands-free cooking (English only) — the only option here if you’d rather talk to a smart speaker than your phone.
Deglaze
Deglaze keeps the screen on, shows ingredient amounts inline with each step so you don’t scroll back up, and starts a timer from an instruction with one tap (Pro). Its listing mentions “audio cooking sessions” for hands-free use but doesn’t describe voice commands.
Sous Chef: a cooking view built for changed recipes
Sous Chef’s cooking mode is a step-by-step view where you check off ingredients and steps as you go, with your notes alongside, a toggle to keep the screen awake, and real timers that run as Live Activities on the Lock Screen and Dynamic Island. Voice in Sous Chef is for changing the recipe: tap the mic and say “I only have one egg” or “make it for six,” and the ingredients and the steps that depend on them update together, marked Edited, with Undo back to the original. It doesn’t read steps aloud or respond to “next step.” There’s no Apple Watch app claimed, no meal planner, and no grocery list.
If you use Sous Chef inside ChatGPT or Claude through its connector, the in-chat cooking mode lets you step through and check off ingredients, but it has no timers; those are on the iPhone.
Which one should you pick?
- You want to never touch the screen: Crouton or Mise.
- You cook from a smart speaker: Recipe Keeper’s Alexa skill.
- You juggle several timers: Pestle or Crouton.
- You want the basics done well for a one-time price: Paprika or Mela.
- Your recipe needs changing before you cook it — fewer servings, a missing ingredient — and you want timers on the Lock Screen: Sous Chef. Scaling there is a real edit, so a halved recipe’s pan size and timing notes can change too; see how to scale a recipe.
You may not need a special app at all
iOS can keep any screen awake if you set Auto-Lock to “Never” in Settings → Display & Brightness, and Siri can set a timer by voice in any app (“Hey Siri, set a timer for 12 minutes”). If your recipes already live in Notes or Safari, that pair covers a lot of “hands-free” for free — just remember to turn Auto-Lock back on.
A practical setup for messy-hands cooking
- Before you start, read the whole recipe once and start the cooking mode.
- Turn on screen-awake (in-app or via Auto-Lock).
- Set long timers as Live Activities or alarms so they reach your Lock Screen or watch.
- Prop the phone at eye level, away from the stove’s splash zone.
- For doneness, trust a thermometer over the timer — USDA’s safe minimum internal temperatures are the finish line for meat, poultry, and eggs. Doubled batches especially won’t match the original timing; see does cooking time change when you double a recipe?.
Common questions
Which recipe app reads the steps out loud?
Mise describes voice guidance with voice prompts in its cooking mode, and Recipe Keeper’s Alexa skill offers step-by-step hands-free cooking on Alexa devices. Sous Chef does not read steps aloud.
Which recipe apps keep the iPhone screen on while cooking?
Paprika, Recipe Keeper, Mela (via a Disable Auto-Lock setting), Deglaze, and Sous Chef (via a keep-screen-awake toggle) state it. Crouton, Pestle, and Mise don’t mention it on their App Store listings as of October 2026.
Can I go to the next step without touching my phone?
Crouton’s listing says its hands-free mode moves between steps without touching the device, and adds thumb left/right gestures. Pestle says it can be controlled hands-free without explaining how. Sous Chef has no touch-free step navigation.
Do any recipe apps show timers on the Lock Screen?
Mela and Sous Chef state Live Activity timers. Crouton describes Live Activities on Apple Watch and AlarmKit alarms, and Pestle’s timers behave like system timers that alert in silent mode.
Can I talk to Sous Chef while cooking?
Yes, for changes: speak a request like “I don’t have buttermilk” or “feed six instead of four” and Sous Chef applies a validated edit to the ingredients and steps. It doesn’t take navigation commands like “next step.”
Is there a free hands-free cooking app?
Every app here is free to download, and Paprika is a one-time $4.99. Free tiers differ: Mise’s voice assistant is Premium, Crouton’s AI import needs Discover, and Deglaze’s one-tap timers are Pro. Sous Chef is free to download and try; heavier AI use may need a subscription later.
Try it on your own recipe
Sous Chef is free to download and try on iPhone. Heavier AI use may need a subscription later.
Download on the App Store